View All >> Govt Jobs
Earlier known as the Subordinate Services Commission, Staff Selection Commission is an organisation which recruits candidates for various Indian government departments and for its subordinate offices. In India, SSC provides more than 75% government jobs. The SSC headquarters is located at New Delhi and seven Regional Offices are in Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Allahabad, Guwahati, Bangalore, Kolkata. In addition, two sub-regional offices are at Raipur and Chandigarh. The Regional and Sub-Regional Offices are established for conducting exams smoothly.

The topmost function of the SSC is to conduct examinations and interviews for the recruitment under Group “B”, non technical Group “C” and Group “D” posts for various Indian Government Ministries and Departments. The SSC is not responsible for recruitment for states, but it assists central govt.

On this page, job aspirants will have all important information like the age limit, application procedure, qualification, selection process and prominent dates for SSC Recruitment 2017. Job seekers are advised to bookmark this page to get SSC recruitment updates.

Staff Selection Commission of India conducts the Combined Graduate Level Examination, (SSC CGL) and Combined Higher Secondary Level (10+2) Examination for the recruitment of the services/ posts in the various Government offices, departments and ministries across the country.

Those who are aspiring for Government jobs through SSC CGL and, should be about 18 years. However, age limit is relaxable for the candidates of reserved categories according to the rules of the Government of India.

Required Qualification:-
Candidates must have passed Graduate degree in any stream.

Exam Pattern & Syllabus:-
The examination shall be conducted in three tiers. The 1st & 2nd tier comprises of objective type multiple choice questions and 3rd tier is a personality test/interview or skill test.

Tier-I Syllabus:- The Tier-I syllabus would be common to all categories of posts. The timing will be 2 hours for general candidates and 2 hours & 40 minutes for those candidates who are visually handicapped.
  • General intelligence & Reasoning – 50 marks
  • General Awareness – 50 marks
  • Numerical Aptitude – 50 marks
  • English Comprehension – 50 marks
Tier-II Syllabus:- The Tier-II exam will be of objective type. It consists of three different papers, depending upon the posts applied for and each will be of 2 hours duration.
  • Arithmetic Ability – 200 marks
  • English Language & comprehension – 200 marks
  • Commerce/Mathematics/Statistics/Economics – 200 marks
Tier-III :- The Tier-III will consist Personality Test/Interview or Skill Test of those candidates, who qualified in Tier-I & II
  • Interview – It consist 100 marks & applicable for only those posts in which it is prescribed.
  • Skill Test – A computer Proficiency Test or Typing Test/Data Entry skill Test will conduct for the posts in which it is prescribed.
Procedure of Application:-
All desirous candidates can apply for the CGL Examination by the SSC online Portal. Before applying, candidates must ensure their eligibility and follow the instructions carefully. After online submission, candidates will need to send applications to the concerned/regional SSC head office by post.